Feeling Under the Weather.

DSC_0227

It’s still that time of year & we’re all coming down with colds and flu’s, especially here in England where we all know winter, seems to be never ending. In the last few days I have been feeling pretty rough myself, so I thought I’d share with you all my essentials for the cold season, from skincare and makeup to ways to really relax.

So let’s kick this off with skincare. In the winter, cold or no cold, skin tends to get very dry and “dull”. When I have a cold, I really try to bump up the moisture levels in my skin – although this really does not happen overnight! Even though you’re not feeling your best, do try to maintain a good, constant skincare routine. Remember to exfoliate once or twice a week, so really get rid of all that horrible dry skin, and then I love to applyElizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Intensive Daily Moisturiser for Face. This is so rich and is the most effective moisturiser I have every used on dry skin. I know it’s pricey, but I would really recommend it if your dry skin is just not listening to anything else. Also I find myself applying hand cream pretty religiously as they get so dry in winter, especially when you have a cold… I guess.

DSC_0229

On this mission to make one’s skin appear healthier, and not suggest that you are pretty ill and incredibly tired, here are the makeup items I tend to reach for in such situations. Sometimes, shoving a load of makeup in the hope you will look presentable when feeling ill is the last thing you want to do. When the time comes that you really do need to look alive, awake and a bit more cheery, small amounts of effective makeup will work wonders.

makeup

I have found the use of a brightening concealer under the eyes and on redness etc is really effective, just to lift the complexion form that dullness of a cold. Usually when my skin is dry I wear the Benefit porefessional primer, just act as a barrier between my skin and the makeup, and makes the foundation or concealer last longer with a smoother finish. Curling the lashes will really open up the eyes, and with added mascara on the top lashes only will really make you look awake. I have been loving the Sleek blush because the gold shimmer in it highlights the cheekbones as well as adding the pop of colour on the cheeks, really brightening up the skin – the perfect colour.

Last of all, the perfect remedy is to watch a good few episodes of your favourite TV series – I recommend Keeping Up the the Kardashians as it is so addictive, amusing and is on the channel E! so often. I also love Pretty Little Liars, although some may find this a little dramatic for chill time. Grab a cup of honey and lemon, or if in doubt a good old cup of tea, maybe even a biscuit to go with it and a hot water bottle.

Feel better if you are under the weather – if you’re one of the lucky ones and just feels pretty great, maybe you could use my suggestions another time…

S x

Leave a Reply

